Oils ain’t oils

coconut First, a proviso. I recently lost my best beloved Canon 350D in a cab (!!), which means I’m relying on a wee Panasonic Lumix to illustrate my posts here. This. KILLS. Me. Photography is one of my many things. I’ve photographed many a wedding, many a band, many a show, I’ve even had a picture on the cover of International Dulcimer Magazine. This is not to say I’m totally obsessed; I just take real pleasure in taking good photographs, just as I take real pleasure in a beautiful lipstick or foxy eyeshadow quad or fulsome powder brush. Fortunately, I’ve recently come across decent employment, so in time I should be back to my picture takin’ ways.

With that in mind, let me introduce you to my New Favourite Thing. Remember how I was trying to find a decent hair treatment? Well, I’ve found it, and it is that glamourous jar above, which can be yours for the princely sum of $6.90. I heard about the deep conditioning powers of coconut oil through the wonderful Primped forums, via ThreeGlossesLady. I’ve been working great palmfuls of the stuff into dry, unwashed hair, massaging it well into my scalp then combing it through the ends. I let my hair stew for a good 40 minutes to an hour, then shampoo and take to my head with my tint brush and Goldwell Soft Color. It’s truly wonderful stuff, and I can’t recommend it highly enough.

1 Comment

Filed under hair

One response to “Oils ain’t oils

  1. i feel the same about photography! i’m experienced and it was a huge passion once upon a time, but now it’s (pleasantly) just a trusty hobby that makes me feel good. i like how you put it.

Leave a Reply

