A tale of two soft shades

belle_de_jour
After my experiment with Sportsgirl’s Cupcake I’ve been on the hunt for just the right soft shade. I’m really going for a 1960s, slightly saucy, Catherine Deneuve in Belle De Jour style soft shade, the kind of nail polish that can take you from urbane salon to bordello in a single day. So I scoured Scrangie and The Polish Addict for swatches, then put in an order for polishes from Misa and OPI and, well…

opi_whoneedsaprinceThe first one I tried, OPI’s Who Needs a Prince, wasn’t quite the sleek, elegant nude I was hoping for. It’s a white jelly with superfine red shimmer, making it look pink from a distance, and… eh. It’s pearlescent but a touch too girly for my tastes.

highwaisthueThe second one, Misa’s High Waist Hue, is a strange one. It’s a pinkish-beige, bandaidy creme, potentially the most Belle du Jour of the two, but it just looks… odd. I’m a huge fan of the Stickey sandwich to keep my polish in place, and I usually never see the green of Stickey through my polish, but Stickey did weird things with this colour.

I’m still on the look out for the right quietly sexy soft shade. Any suggestions?

1 Comment

Filed under Nails

One response to “A tale of two soft shades

  1. Hi there, try Rimmel’s French Manicure, they’re fab! I wrote about it on my blog sometime ago:
    http://beautifullybrainymusic.blogspot.com/2009/06/rimmel-french-manicure.html

Leave a Reply

