Balls-out colour

I’m a big believer in colour refreshing products. Used judiciously, they can keep coloured hair, especially difficult colours like my coppery red, looking fresh and non-naff for longer, and can even help stretch out salon visits. Refreshing my colour is a Sunday ritual for me. I shower, brush my trusty Goldwell Soft Colour in 8K through any regrowth, then pull it through the ends, clip everything gooily up, then clean the house. By the time I’m done cleaning the colour is well and truly processed, so I shower, work through a deep treatment (at the moment Redken’s divinely buttery Real Control masque, review pending), and emerge ready to face the week.

But I’m a nerd, and I’m always on the hunt for something new. Revlon’s colour balls, erm, Nutricolor Creme is a fixture in salons around Melbourne. It seems you can’t go anywhere to get your hair did without facing a display of these brightly coloured balls, and I’ve got to say two thumbs up for packaging design. The single dose trial packets are truly ingenious, and the big pump packs are truly covetable. My colourist uses Revlon, so last time I went in for a cut I decided to pick up a single dose pack to give it a whirl.

The single dose pack opens up to two halves, separated by a peel off foil. The instructions ask you to wear gloves and spread the entire ‘ball’ through your hair. It also says you need only process for three minutes, which is a bonus if you’re in a rush. Revlon bills this as a colour refreshing, deep conditioning double threat, and it is… kind of.

Here is my break down of the good and the bad.

The Good

  • It’s very creamy, like a thick, unctuous gel, and easier to apply than a mousse.
  • True to Revlon’s word, it is very conditioning. My ends felt really soft and lovely.
  • It’s a nice, quick solution if you need to refresh your colour without mooching around the house for too long.

The Bad

  • It does nothing to virgin hair, which means when you rinse it out your roots will be intact. My old Goldwell standby certainly doesn’t colour regrowth the way a proper colour would, but the copper still ‘grabs’ virgin hair and blends regrowth away nicely, making it a great solution for the last couple of weeks before a salon visit.
  • It’s very conditioning, which also makes it kind of unsuitable to leave on your roots, anyway. Like a lot of people, especially those with longer hair, my roots tend towards oiliness and my ends tend towards dryness. The easiest solution for this is to keep shampoo to the roots and scalp, and spread conditioners and treatments from the ears down. Problem solved. Again, the Goldwell doesn’t really condition at all. While this means you need to condition afterwards, it also means you can apply the product right to the roots without getting any greasiness afterwards. My roots greased up like nobody’s business after using Nutricolour, just because it was so conditioning.
  • The copper I used wasn’t really copper. This is a major embuggerance with red hair products. The thing about a believable red is it’s not really red; it’s coppery. True reds tend to look fake, and I’m really shooting for a copper version of my natural dark ash blonde.  The colour I used, 734, promised an orangey copper but came out a deeper red. Goldwell Soft Colour in 8K is reliably copper, so it wins on that front.
  • Price! Nutricolour is $10 for a single dose, $40 for a pump pack. Soft Colour is $20-$21 per can.

It’s disappointing, I really wanted to like Nutricolour, but it just didn’t do anything for me. I guess my Sunday ritual remains unchanged.

1 Comment

Filed under hair

One response to “Balls-out colour

  1. belle

    more posts please!

Leave a Reply

